IADR Karring-Nyman Sunstar Guidor® Award

August 18, 2019

The 3rd Karring – Nyman Sunstar Guidor Award was bestowed during the 2019 IADR congress (International Association for Dental Research) in Vancouver on June 20th.

This year, the prize was awarded to Dr. Peter Harisson from the Trinity Dental College of Dublin, Ireland, for the project "L-PRF vs. L-PRF Block in periodontal regeneration of 2- and 3-walled intrabony defects".

Leukocyte and Platelet rich fibrin (L-PRF) has demonstrated favourable outcomes when compared to open flap debridement alone in the regeneration of periodontal infrabony defects. However, it is unclear whether combining this autogenous material with a xenograft (in the form of L-PRF Block) will further enhance regenerative outcomes. The in vitro characteristics of L-PRF have also not been extensively investigated.

The aims of the project of Dr. Harisson are to compare clinical and radiographic outcomes following grafting with L-PRF versus L-PRF Block and to investigate factors affecting the in vitro degradation of membranes.

Dr. Andreas Stavropoulos (right), Councillor of PRG and Professor at the Dept. of Periodontology, Malmö University, Sweden, presenting the 3rd award to Dr. Peter Harisson (left).

Congratulations to Dr. Harisson!

The Karring – Nyman Sunstar Guidor Award, sponsored by the Sunstar Foundation, was offered for the first time in 2017 through the IADR Periodontal Research Group. A prize of 10,000 Euros is awarded to a doctoral student or post-doctoral scientist to pursue research within the field of oral tissue regeneration.

For more information about the award and to submit to the 4th one, please visit: www.iadr.org/IADR/Awards/Scientific-Group-Awards/PERIO/Guidor