AAP Announces First Winner of Sunstar Innovation Grant

May 17, 2017

Sunstar Americas and the American Academy of Periodontology (AAP) announce the inaugural winner of the Sunstar Innovation Grant.

The winner is Dr. Yvonne L. Kapila of the University of California, San Francisco – School of Dentistry.

Her research entitled "Natural Bacteriocins as Pre/Pro-Biotics to Promote Oral Health and Prevent Periodontal Disease" is in naturally occurring bacteriocins that improve oral health and prevent oral disease. It may develop the foundational knowledge that will help guide the potential use of pre/probiotics containing nisin or nisin-producing bacteria in promoting the maintenance of a healthy oral microbiome and preventing the formation of a pathogenic microbiome associated with periodontal disease.

Please click here for the press release.