Winners of World Dental Hygienist Awards 2013 Announced

April 23, 2013

Three winners of the World Dental Hygienist Awards have now been chosen. Congratulations to the 2013 recipients:

Research category
Ms. Dagmar Else Slot, RDH, MSC
"The effect of 1% chlorhexidine gel and 0.12% dentifrice gel on plaque accumulation: a 3-day non- brushing model'

Project category
Mr. Mário Rui Araújo, RDH, BSDH, M. Psych.
Ms. Cristina Cádima, RDH, BDH
"An inclusive public dental health project in Portugal"

Student Research category
Mr. Tjeerd Blom, RDH, BoH
"The effect of mouthrinses on oral malodor: a systematic review"

All recipients will present their papers during the 2013 International Symposium on Dental Hygiene in Cape Town South Africa

The session will be held on Friday 16th August 2013 from 09h00 – 10h30 in Auditorium 1 of the Cape Town International Convention Centre

Please click HERE to learn more about the Awards and the winners.

In 2007 the Sunstar Foundation, in collaboration with the International Federation of Dental Hygienists (IFDH) and the International Journal of Dental Hygiene (IJDH), established the World Dental Hygienist Awards to recognize and encourage dental hygienists and dental hygiene students who have made important contributions to the dental hygienist community, their profession or to the general public.